Gotta Get The Creative Juices Flowing

During the summer of my 18th year, I would take my basketball and travel down the road to the parking lot of a church that held a basketball goal. No one else was ever there (small town) and I could shoot hoops to my heart’s content. I enjoyed doing this because while I did that, I could freely think about my book. It wasn’t like I was sitting in a chair, staring at a screen trying to think. I enjoyed being active while I thought up new scenarios and shooting hoops didn’t take much concentration.

Over the years, I’ve really missed that and sometimes when I get writer’s block, I just want to search out a basketball court. Where I live now, it’s hard to find one that’s not occupied all the time so I haven’t been able to find a way to get my creative juices flowing.

But this past weekend, I signed up with a gym that has a basketball court and this morning I went there and shot hoops for almost an hour because I was the only one there. And it worked. I was able to think up the next part of my book. So, here’s hoping the rest of my book will speed by because I’m going to be visiting that gym often.

What do you do to get your creative juices flowing?

Leave a Reply

