The concept of The Kinetic Keeper

So, I thought I would tell the story of how I came up with the idea for my book. See, the thing is, I’ve thought of a lot of ideas for my books in the past (I mean all the ones that are unfinished and trunked away for now lol) But when I go back and think about how I came up for the idea, it’s always kind of fuzzy. But I remember exactly how I came up with this one. So here’s the story:

It was Thursday, November 27th, 2008 (Thanksgiving!) and I was going to the theater all by myself to see a movie I had already seen two other times. What movie you ask? Oh, uh *cough twilight cough cough*. Yes, I was into that whole faze. Anyway, back to the story.

So I’m standing in line at the concession ready to order a soda and popcorn and as I’m waiting, I’m looking around for straws because I didn’t want to look like a fool after I got my soda and trying to find them (sometimes they hide those blasted things!) After I located the straws, a concept started floating in my head. A girl who could spot things very quickly. A girl who could react to things extremely fast. But she wasn’t a superhero or anything. She just had an amazing brain.

I get my snacks and I head into the theater, my head a-buzzin. Luckily, I had my trusty notebook and pen in my purse and immediately began scribbling down ideas. I was going to make her 17 and she would meet just a few others like her. But they would have other “abilities.”

Long story short, I ended up writing about 2 pages of the story like that and then EVERYTHING changed. I wanted to write a series. And I wanted more abilities. Not just a few. So I started researching telekinesis and all the other kinetics. I got more excited as I looked things up. This is how the story should be.

So I scratched the story of the 17 year old girl with the gifted brain and I turned her into a 14 year old girl that would discover she had telekinesis and then (gasp) so much more than that. I knew it would be a four book series and I had the ending played out before the first book was even done.

And that is the story of how The Kinetic Keeper came to be. I hoped you enjoyed this and I hope you enjoy the book. 🙂

Leave a Reply

