What I’ve learned about publishing

As a new author, this has been an interesting experience for me. I never thought I would get a book out there. Before self publishing came along, I struggled with sending in query letters to agents hoping one of them would bite. But I only got rejection after rejection. It was very disheartening. In fact, every time I did get rejected, I didn’t even want to work on my book anymore. I would file it away and not look at it again for weeks. Which isn’t good.

Then the kindle came along and people started publishing their books like crazy. I was actually a late bloomer in getting into the e-reading world. I preferred my physical books. And I was still determined to get published the traditional way. I thought it would be better. That I would make more money or get more readers that way.

And then one day, while editing my book The Kinetic Keeper, I thought why am I wasting time trying to get an agent. They reject me. If I publish it (for free!) on Amazon, it will be up to the readers to reject or accept me. I mean, that’s what it’s all about right? I don’t want an agent to read my book; I want readers to read my book. They are the ones that matter. They are the ones I’m telling the story to.

So now, I’ve been published for a couple months and thanks to Createspace.com, I’m working on putting my book in print also. I’ve received a few reviews and so far, all good things. And I’m incredible thankful for that. I’m still working on the second book in the series and I plan to have it done soon.

It just goes to show: Sometimes, if you want something done, you have to do it yourself.

Leave a Reply

